Bodiam Castle 1940s Day

I am, it has to be said, a huge (bordering on obsessive) fan of the 1940s. I love the fashion, the makeup, the music, the romance of the era which blossomed despite the devastating destruction. It has, therefore, become a hobby of mine to attend all the local 1940s days I can find.

(Photos from Google)

 (Photo © The National Trust)

Yesterday I went with my family and my friend Jess to one at Bodiam Castle. Jess and I both dressed up and had great fun strolling around the grounds of the castle in heels, victory rolls and red lipstick! We both said it was amazing how much attention we got from people when dressed in vintage clothing, which I don’t mind saying I enjoyed!  It was nice to find, when people came up to speak to us, that our efforts were appreciated. I think, if I could, I would dress like this more often, as I think the 40s style of dress is very classy, sophisticated and feminine.

(My friend Jess on the left in green, me on the right in pink)

In the grounds of Bodiam castle, there were various military tents, including a mock field hospital. Bodiam’s own pillbox was decked out in camouflage and machine guns, and was patrolled by men in WW2 army uniforms. There was also a display of army vehicles and a tea dance marquee in which a number of dancers Lindy-hopped.

(The Field Hospital with the injured mannequin!)

(Display of children’s toys etc)

(Army Vehicle)

We went into the castle itself and got quite a few odd glances as we walked round the castle and climbed one of the towers in our outfits! Later we wandered down to The Kent and East Sussex Railway, where we completed the day with a steam train ride. When we arrived at Tenterden, the engine driver let me climb up into the engine, while my mother took photos.  All in all, I had a great day out and I look forward to my next 1940s day!

(Jess (right) and I (left) on the train)

(Me leaning out of the train window)

(Looking out of the window)

(Me inside the engine!)

(Jess and I beside the train)

Bodiam Castle 1940s Day Photos © E.Bell – do not use without permission

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlestonjivesquad Cjs
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 15:53:00

    Hi there,
    What a lovely write up and photos…
    We are charleston jive squad who put the tea dance on at bodaim castle.
    If you fancy learning lindy hop we are based in Battle…
    Please feel free to email us charlestonjivesquad@hotmail.co.uk
    or we are on facebook.

    Reply

    • comeandgobybubble
      Aug 15, 2011 @ 12:19:52

      Hi! That’s really cool , I really enjoyed seeing you guys dance! I’d love to learn Lindy Hop, so I may get in touch with you in the future about it – now isn’t a great time as I’m about to go off to uni, but I’d definitely like to learn at some point! Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

