Vintage Finds

I am a huge vintage lover: I love vintage clothes, make up, music etc. My main area of interest is the 1940s and those who have read my post on the Bodiam Castle 1940s day will know that I like to emulate the style of the 40s when I can. Today I want to show you my vintage finds, some 40s, some not. My collection is, at present, small, but I hope to expand it greatly in the future (when I have a job!!)

Firstly, I have a pair of Victorian white gloves. I picked these up at a summer fair years ago, probably for just a few pounds, as I was just a child at the time and it’s unlikely that I had a huge amount of pocket-money. A few small bits of the seams on the fingers have broken, but apart from that, and some minor staining, the gloves seem to be in quite good condition.

I was thrilled to find this next pair of gloves in an antiques shop in Suffolk, whilst on holiday this year (post on holiday to come soon). I was told that they were 40s/50s and they are in excellent condition. There is minor soiling on the fingertips, which shows that the gloves have been worn many times, as they look and feel used. They cost £7.

Next I have a 1950s handbag, which I found at a local vintage market for £15. I was very excited to find it, and although it’s 50s rather than 40s (ssh!) I used it at a recent 40s event and felt it complemented my outfit well. (see Bodiam Castle 1940s Day post) It’s in excellent condition and is just the right size to hold essentials, including a mandatory tube of red lipstick!

Finally, the Pièce de résistance, at another vintage market, in Suffolk, I found… …. a pair of 1940s green silk evening shoes! And they’re in my size! (Yay!) They’re absolutely gorgeous and in great condition. Finding these was doubly exciting for me: I am a shoe lover and a vintage lover so finding a genuine pair of vintage shoes (which fit me) was amazing. They were £15.

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing these photos. Please feel free to comment, and let me know if you’ve had any exciting vintage finds yourself, I’d love to hear about them. 🙂

(Photos © E.Bell 2011. Do not use without my permission)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brooke
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 09:53:11

    I love every item! Items from the 1940s and 1950s are being remade or are the inspirations for trends now. I can see that gloves have some wear, but they are in good condition. How exciting to find shoes that fit you and are in excellent condition. Do you have to put anything on the shoes to protect them from the rain and mud?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

