BBC ‘Call The Midwife’ episode 3

(The cast of ‘Call The Midwife’)

Without Downton Abbey giving me my weekly fix of period dramas, I needed something else to fill the void, and lo and behold, along came Call The Midwife. For those who haven’t seen it, it is based on the memoirs of Jennifer Worth who wrote of her experiences as a midwife in 1950s London. I am greatly enjoying this series so far, and I was glad to hear that it has been commissioned for a second series.

(Jessica Raine (L) as Jenny Lee and Helen George (R) as Trixie Franklin.)

Jessica Raine, who plays Jenny Lee, is a talented actress and it is interesting watching her starting to progress from naïve young nurse to competent midwife. Raine is well supported by a wonderful cast including Pam Ferris, Jenny Agutter, Judy Parfitt and Miranda Hart. As a huge fan of the show Miranda, I was greatly looking forward to seeing Hart in Call The Midwife, and she didn’t disappoint. She has shown that she is a commendable actress and her character, Chummy, became my favourite as soon as she appeared on-screen. Inevitably Chummy gets most of the laughs, but during her serious scene in episode 2 in which she had to deliver a breech baby alone, I really rooted for her – hoping, as she did, that the delivery would be ok.

(Miranda Hart as Chummy.)

Of course each episode has featured at least one cute newborn – mandatory I think in a programme about midwives – but I don’t find the series overly sentimental. I like that not every story so far has had a happy ending as it adds realism. I may in the future read the books on which this series is based, as it would be interesting to know how many of the storylines really happened.

Thoughts on episode 3:

  • The story with the middle-aged couple was really sweet, and the outcome surprised me. When the husband saw his wife cradling a black baby, I expected him to at least break down in tears, and probably to reject her and the child which clearly wasn’t his. However, I liked how he instantly fell in love with the child, never wavered in that love, and never asked questions.
  • I like the character of Jimmy – I hope he sticks around. I think Jenny needs a man like him in her life, as when they spent the day together by the sea, she really loosened up and had fun.

(George Rainsford as Jimmy.)

  • I found the storyline with Joe, the old man liking in a bug-infested flat, very sad – he seemed such a sweet old soul and to come to such a pitiful end was heartbreaking.
  • My favourite scene was when Sister Evangelina (Ferris) set Chummy and PC Noakes (Ben Caplan) up on a date. It’s a good thing she intervened, otherwise Noakes and Chummy probably would have dithered about saying “you look well” “thank you, so do you” for months at least! You can see the scene here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p00nkhj2

So far, I am really enjoying this series: it is well acted, has lovely costumes and great plotlines. I am eagerly anticipating the next episode on Sunday…

(All photos ©BBC)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lillyanne Cornwallis
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 12:20:44

    I am soo in love with call the midwife, you know when you love something so much that you dream about it and you think about it all the time, that is how I feel. Especially George rainsford (jimmy) he is so good looking and I love the character that he plays. Jessica raine (Jenny lee) is awfully pretty and none would wish to be like her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

